Saddlesore maps?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  dcutter May 16, 2016 at 2:27 pm.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

dcutter
    Participant

My first try at loading a map link on this site, so please be patient  ;D

Here is my first planned SS1600k for 2015.
      http://goo.gl/maps/nEaIf

Anyone got any planned?

BBG

Must be a rough riding bike, your trip is only 300 meters!… lol

madjak30
            • Senior Contributor

Quite the trek…not sure I’ll be able to get a long ride in this year. This 10&4 shift sucks for time off, and I enjoy my visits with my kids when I’m off…so most likely day trips this year only, unless my schedule changes.  ???

Last year I did the loop from Lacombe, AB to Castlegar, BC and back…long, but very scenic!

Later.

ABLE

Looks like a pretty good trip.  I’ve never done Hwy 41 before and very little of Hwy 36.  How long are you planning on taking to do the trip?  One day or are you going to spread it out and take in a few sights?

dcutter
            Participant

300 metres? It should show more than 1600km!

I’m going to do it as a Saddlesore (Ironbutt Association ride), so I will tackly it in a 24 hour period.

madjak30
                  • Senior Contributor

Your start and finish points aren’t far apart…you are taking the 1600km scenic route to go 300m ish  😉

dcutter
                Participant

Here is a screen cap of the route.
                  Capture.JPG

Jefferiyligh

I use Google Maps, but it does not always give the names of the smaller tribs.  They usually show up f you zoom in enough, but not with names.  And it does help if you turn on the “terrain” feature.

link

Jefferiyligh

If you can get any of the state or regional Gazetter sp.? maps to display, in my experience they have names for even small streams. Its at least worth carrying the printed maps with, theyre relatively light and compact.

link

inspiratron
                      Participant